Feather Awards 2020: Turn Up the Love

The Feather Awards nominees for 2020 were announced earlier today, 15 October 2020, at a festive event held at the Mushroom Farm Park in Sandown, Johannesburg.

Under the theme “Turn Up for Love”, the Feather Awards will celebrate 12 years of queerness, love, inclusivity and diversity.

EXIT’s Maureen Majola and Petros Abraham pictured with Feathers co-founder Thami Dish (middle) at the launch.

In a press statement, organisers said the awards are “dedicated to uplifting the names of LGBTIQ activists who’re doing the important work in communities across the country, [and] also pays homage to supportive media bodies, LGBTIQ student movements and selected role models who enrich and back the community”.

Having been a “voice for the LGBTQ community for over a decade”, the Feather Awards took a decision in 2019 to extend beyond just an awards evening with the organisation launching the Feathers Festival which is “dedicated to celebrating the LGBTIQ community through the arts”.

The Feathers Festival is a full array of well planned and executed LGBTIQ advocacy activations taking place throughout the year. Done in partnership with the Thami Dish Foundation, these programmes include the LGBTIQ+ Dialogues done in communities across South Africa focusing on vulnerable LGBTIQ youth and inclusion for all.

EXIT co-owner Gontse Seakamela during the Feathers Festival’s LGBTIQ+ representation in Media dialogue hosted in June 2020.

Co-founder Thami Kotlolo aka ‘Thami Dish’ expressed their excitement at the launch and was grateful that it could be held now that South Africa has been moved down to Level 1.

“The Feathers have transformed into a gigantic well-oiled operation. Showcasing our LGBTIQ community to the world, empowering South African youth with the LGBTIQ+ Dialogues and then, of course, the big celebration at the end with these over the top colourful awards,” said Kotlolo. “And with a slight delay, in all festivities this year, we are turning up the love and looking to a positive future ahead in 2021.

The ‘usually controversial’ list is composed of personalities and individuals from various industry sectors including entertainment, lifestyle, sport and the business sector. Each nominated individual, in one way or the other, “has either represented, inspired, or scandalised the LGBTIQ+ community with excellence and distinction over 12 months”.

Here is the full list of nominees:

Best Styled Individual
Anele Papu
Jimmy Nevis
Thishiwe Ziqubu

Hunk of The Year
Ryle Rene De Morny
Gorata Nzimande
Dr. Fezile Mkhize

Hot Chick of The Year
Blue Mbombo
Celeste Khumalo
Siphesihle Ndaba

Sports Personality of The Year
Siya Kolisi
Bongiwe Msomi
Makazole Mampipi

Best Rainbow Parenting
Napo Masheane
Hlubi Mthimkhulu and Mduduzi Motaung
Buhlebendalo and Botshelo

Best LGBTIQ Student Movement
Up&Out Tuks
NWU LGBTI: Transformation Association
Rainbow UCT

Best LGBTIQ Initiative: Private Sector
Queer Wellness Centre
Nike SA
Engage Mens Health

Diva Extraordinaire of The Year
Connie Chiume
Lindiwe Sisulu
Refiloe Modiselle

Media Award of The Year
Blood & Water
The River

Social Media Personality of The Year
Aus Velemina
Vuyokazi Nguqu
Siv Ngezi
Coconut Kelz

Cutest Couple of The Year
Nomsa & Zandile
Ricky & Tony
Sape & Vaivi

Role Model of The Year
Sade Giliberti
Dr Dulcy Stapler Rakumakoe

Drama Queen of The Year
COVID-19 Solidarity Fund
The Gigabytes
Somizi and Dinner kwa Somizi

Socialite of The Year
Sarah Langa
Shauwn Mkhize

Musician of The Year
Master KG
Zoe Modiga

Fag Hag of The Year
Shumi Dantile
Shauwn Mkhize
Siv Ngezi

African Feather of the Year
Frank Mugisha

The awards ceremony will take place on 11 November 202 at a closed ceremony in Johannesburg.


One thought on “Feather Awards 2020: Turn Up the Love

  • at

    Someone essentially help to make seriously articles I would state. This is the very first time I frequented your website page and thus far? I amazed with the research you made to make this particular publish incredible. Fantastic job!


Leave a Reply